‘Mike’ Malcolm Ross

'Mike' Ross

A very appreciative news account of Mike Ross’ punk ‘zine and its preservation was published in the Washington Post on 9/15/15.  “Mike” Ross graduated from Woodlawn in 1984, and attended NYU’s Tisch School of the Arts. He died in 1987, at age 21,  in a fall from the Williamsburg Bridge, which he’d been climbing on with friends.

A surprising legacy of D.C.’s punk rock history

by columnist  John Kelly.

From the article:

Mike lived for the music, said his co-editor Stafford Mather, 48, calling from San Diego. “He turned me on to a lot of punk rock in high school. I went from AC/DC and Van Halen right into D.C. hard-core. He and I and my friend Bob used to go to shows every weekend.”

One comment

  1. Dag Mike, miss you still; we did some silly art BS, mostly BS art silly. DaDa! Climbed a bunch of towers with you (your brainchild) and watched so much fine MTV, it makes the memory fuzz. I do remember watching Live Aid, with the Age of Consent crowd . hmm. I regret missing your last pre Halloween party in NYC. I imagine you climbing….

Leave a Reply - Your initial comment will be moderated by site editors